Starter question yeast pellicle/krausen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HomeBrewMasterRace

Enthusiastic Homebrewer
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm fairly new to doing starters so I was hoping someone could take a look at this to let me know what they think. I generally ferment in a bucket so I'm not used to seeing the Krausen form. But I'm using a new yeast here and want to make sure all is good

I'm using the WLP029 and have no experience with this yeast.

I am not planning to add oxygen/agitate this starter, it's gravity is 1.55 and am making it for a Marzen I'm making that will have a similar gravity.

I made starter with 800ml of tap water and about a cup of DME. Also added a teaspoon of yeast nutrient before boil. Brought all ingredientsto a boil on the stove top in the flask. It was cooled in an ice bath with top open, nothing got in other than a sanatized paper towel, a sanatized thermometer and a sanatized eye dropper to test gravity on refractometer. Pitched 1 packet of liquid yeast at room temperature in my home 74°F

Just want to make sure it's healthy.

Thanks in advance
IMG_20181201_142533.jpeg
IMG_20181201_142529.jpeg
IMG_20181201_142508.jpeg
IMG_20181201_142503.jpeg

Reading between the blurs that starter looks fine from here.
What you're seeing are "yeast rafts" and are totally normal in an unstirred starter.
And I doubt an infection would appear so quickly unless it was intentional.
Carry on...

Cheers!

I am not planning to add oxygen/agitate this starter, it's gravity is 1.55 and am making it for a Marzen I'm making that will have a similar gravity.

Is there a reason you don't want to agitate this starter? Typically one would try to get oxygen in as it is a necessary part of the yeast reproduction. Agitation is one way to do this.