Spices for an IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

castillo

Reaction score
I planning on brewing an IPA on Labor day weekend and I was thinking of using some spices. So I was wondering if anyone has used spices in an IPA before and which ones should I use. Thanks.

The problem is that the strong bitterness & hop flavors of an IPA will undermine most spices you might add to a beer. Most spiced beers tend to be not so hoppy of beers for good reason . . . it lets you taste the spices better.

I am not an expert brewer, but the spice flavor comes from the hops you use. What kind of spice are you looking for? I really like the Northwest IPAs like Rogue's Brutal IPA. I believe that they use Centennial hops or cascade as a nice, less bitter, substitution. These hops have a nice citrus flavor. Don't forget that aroma plays a huge part in IPAs. Throw some hops in at flame out to get that wonderful flowery nose. :mug:

Well I haven't used them yet, but on Saturday I brewed up an IPA that I will either spice a part of it in the secondary or add a vodka infusion at bottling. I am slated to use fenugreek and coriander in two separate batches and perhaps blend them in a third, to compare to the base recipe with no spices. It is a modified recipe that is found in the book Radical Brewing.