sourdough starter not souring

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kgb_operative

Reaction score
So I've been baking with sourdough for many years, and after I started brewing beer I decided that my sourdough starter had a wonderful, not overpoweringly sour aroma and that I would try that in a honeyed wheatbeer recipe that I really liked (scaled down to 1 gal):

1.5# wheat malt
1.0# 2-row pale
0.25# flaked oats
0.5# orange blossom honey

3-batch mash (.5gal @ 145, .5gal @ 155, .5gal @ 175)

0.5oz crystal hops @ 60min

The only difference was that I did not have the crystal but I did have some leftover perle pellets. OG was ~1090

After I pitched the starter, the fermentation really kicked off about 24 hours later (to the point where it over-flowed the airlock), but I have yet to detect any sourness at all, just smells like a hoppy pale ale. I did not have a scale that could weigh the .25oz of perle that I would need and may have used too much; so my question is, could this have killed off the souring beasties and left just sacch?

Update: fruity nose, good attenuation (from 1094 to 1031 in less than a week), the hops have faded into the background, and the malts have risen to the fore. It appears that I have a good ale yeast on my hands, not a whole lot of acidity though. Go figure....

I am a sourdough baker myself, and i believe that there are two diferent organisms at work in a good starter...yeast and bacteria, which is a lacto strain. The yeast will not give you the sour in your bread, it is the lactobacillus that you have captured. So...I think that when you put it in your wort, the yeast went to work on the sugars but I don't know what happens to the lacto. What is used in sour beers?