Sour Cherry Ale - Extreme Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drhall23

Reaction score
I am looking to follow the Sour Cherry Ale recipe from the Sam Calagione - Extreme Brewing Book.
I am very new to home-brewing. I have only made three batches of beer and they were from Brewer's Best Home kits, and have turned out great. So now I feel it is time to move on to home-brewing from scratch, per se.
I have read this recipe numerous times, but now my wife is interrupting it differently....what do i need for the cherries?

Do i need ONE of the following : 10lbs crushed sour red cherries OR 7lbs frozen cherries OR 2lbs dried cherries
OR
Do I need 10lbs crushed sour red cherries AND 7lbs frozen cherries OR 2lbs dried cherries

Is my question confusing? I guess better put...do I need one type of the listed cherries or a combination?

any help would be appreciated. If I need sour red cherries, any suggestions on where to find them during the winter? or what can be used as a close substitute?
:mug:

Any one of the three.

You may be able to find them frozen at a health food store or even a regular grocery store in the dessert area. You should also be able to find sour cherry juice that will work. If you go the juice route it will take a lot of juice to get a good cherry flavor, which results in watering down the beer. You may need to bump up the rest of the recipe to accommodate that.

I do NOT recommend using the sour cherry pie filling or sour cherries in water you find in the grocery store. They have had most of the juice removed so they will contribute minimal flavor and color.

You can find sour cherry puree (Oregon) in HBS and most grocery stores and wal-mart. People seem to have good success with that.