Single step infusion for wind malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewingWisdom

Reaction score
Hi
As some of you probably know a wind malt is a type of old malt (rare these days) which is not kilned one.The green malt is used dried using the wind and sun dried to dry the grain before it's converted into grist.
Now as regards to mashing there is plenty of confusion I got when I read through different sources. Some say it's suitable for step mashing and decoction. But as a noob I only know and have the equipment for single step infusion. My question is will the wind malt works fine in single step infusion? Also mine will be wheat wind malt , so the mashing temperature and duration is same as barley malt?
I've already spoiled three batches before so this is probably my last attempt of learning to brew a beer at home lol. So please give me a solid and credible info if you want the beer brewing to stay with me 😁
Cheers 🍺 🍻

In general, the malts that "need" a step mash that includes a protein rest are under-modified malts. They need it because their protein matrix has not yet been sufficiently broken down.

Under-modified malts are pretty uncommon these days. Can you get the specs for your malt? If so, look for a Kolbach Index (or "KI" or "Soluble Nitrogen Ratio" or "SN/TN" or "S/T"). A number of less than 36 is generally considered under-modified. (Note: If you see "Windisch-Kolbach," that's something different.)