Sigh... Temperature Issues....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sanjuro

Reaction score
Ok. I'm new to brewing and I'm having temperature control issues.. The Wort is either too warm (over 75) or too cold (below 62) with the majority of time being spent in that range.. My beers are coming off a little too boozy at the beginning but quite tasty in the middle. I need a way to level out the temperature but can't afford, or much less have the space for, a fridge or hack job cooling/warming device.. If I just keg/bottle my beer and leave it for months will it improve? I'm at a loss.. Need some advise and I'm open to it. I love listening to the advice of others. Thanks for taking the time to read and post if you do.

(I do have a brew belt.)

Cheers!

Put the primary into a water bucket and fill the container with water, add frozen bottles when it gets to warm again.

Thanks man.. Only issue is. I have no idea where to get a bucket bigger than the 7.8 gallon one I currently have.

+1. I also wonder if you could rig a temperature controller with the brew belt?
You might find your beer does improve with age, give it a few weeks and see.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Thanks man.. Only issue is. I have no idea where to get a bucket bigger than the 7.8 gallon one I currently have.
You don't need a bucket. Head to the Dollar Store and pick up a large tote. you can submerge about a foot and a half of your fermentor, and drape a wet towel over the rest.

my first temp controlled fermentation chamber was a wine cooler that fit a carboy. I Hooked it up to an STC1000 temp controller.

Wine coolers are cheap on craigs list.