Should i strain my wort???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpfeil8484

Reaction score
I am new to brewing, I was wondering if I should strain my wort prior to putting it in the first fermenter so most of the trub is left behind?

well there are 3 camps.

camp 1: it doesn't matter, it will all settle out

camp 2: its better not to strain, that's nutrients and there is a lot of sugar stuck to that stuff.

camp 3: none of that nasty stuff is going into my beer

subcamp of 3: people that for mechanical reasons like plate chillers and some counterflow chillers that NEED to strain to keep their systems working efficiently.

Camp one-won't take the time,it'll all settle out.
Camp 2-ain't no goodies left in that gunk-n-funk
Camp 3-Needs to because of plate chillers,etc,or doesn't like the thought of a half gallon or more of beer lost to all that trub in the bottom.
I like straining all into the fermenter,pouring in a circular motion so the liquid comes out the bottom like rain. Not just cleaner,but aerated some. Then I stir 5 minutes straight to mix well & aerate more. A little tiny bit of extra effort will not only yeild more beer later,but less funk to clean then as well.

I never strain anything. The only thing I leave behind in my pot is the thick, solid hopjunk. The rest all settles out in the fermenter. I've never had issues with off flavors or cloudy beer.

It's not that you'll get off flavors or cloudy beer,but less beer due to a thicker trub layer at the bottom. I've seen some on here get a gallon or more lost to a huge trub layer. Strain it out & you'll get more out.

always strain the hops. I think you lose more beer to the trub if you don't.