schwarzbier recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

j_narbrew

Reaction score
here is a schwarzbier recipe i am working on. i'm hoping to brew it soon and was looking for input. i'm still an amateur, but i've come up with a couple decent recipes. i don't have the ability to lager, so i'm using german ale/kolsch yeast since it is supposed to be a clean fermenting yeast. any feedback would be helpful

The German Assassin:
batch size:5 gal

Original Gravity: 1.058 (1.046 - 1.052)
Terminal Gravity: 1.014 (1.010 - 1.016)
Color: 25.57 (17.0 - 30.0)
Alcohol: 5.67% (4.4% - 5.4%)
Bitterness: 32.2 (22.0 - 32.0)

Ingredients:

.5 lb Carafa Special® TYPE III
1.0 lb Caramel Vienne 20L Malt
3.3 lb Liquid Light Extract
3.3 lb Liquid Dark Extract
.5 lb Light Brown Sugar
1.0 oz Tettnanger 60 min
1.0 oz Tettnanger 30 min
.5 oz Spalt Spalter 10 min
.5 oz Spalt Spalter 5 min
White Labs WLP029 German Ale/Kölsch

i was also thinking about adding german dark munich/and or german dark crystal. thoughts? :ban:

The brown sugar would be a bit unusual and 1/4 lb of Carafa III is probably enough.

A 1/2 lb of C90L wouldn't be out of place and Munch is a better choice than Vienne, but a pound of each is okay.

I don't think I have ever used dark LME before, so I may not know what I'm talking about here... Anyway, would the dark LME bring a roast flavor to the beer that you might not be looking for? Some people like schwarzbier because it looks like a stout but tastes like a pilsner. If that is what you are going for, maybe drop the dark LME and keep the carafa III at .5#. If you looking for a roasty flavor, then definitely keep the dark LME. I personally like schwarzbier both ways, I'm just offering something to consider.