Sanke 1/4 BBL Fermenter Conversion

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cantrell00

Reaction score
All:

Is the dome in the bottom (or top) of a 1/4 bbl keg steep enough to handle yeast/trub accumulation in the same way that a conical would?

I am considering converting mine assuming it would. If not, I'm probably going to buy a fastrack fastferment plastic.

Anyone with any experience with converted kegs as fermenters?

I use a 1/2 barrel as a fermenter. I can harvest the yeast, but I do not think it will be as effective as a conical would be. Look up the brewhemoth (spelling?). There is a lot of ranting about the angle of it. I think conical are at 60° and there is a reason.

I am not an expert, just filling in with my prior research.

I use a 1/2 barrel as a fermenter. I can harvest the yeast, but I do not think it will be as effective as a conical would be. Look up the brewhemoth (spelling?). There is a lot of ranting about the angle of it. I think conical are at 60° and there is a reason.

I am not an expert, just filling in with my prior research.

Thanks.. Will do...

I should have also mentioned that I intend to pressurize with CO2 if neccesary to force the yeast/trub down & out so I can the rack the contents out..

It will only get what accumulates in the opening.
Sanke's are great for fermenting, but not so great as a conical.
Some guys have welded a cone to a cut Sanke, but I'm not a fan of blind welds that you can't dress.