Same batch, different water profiles?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rhumbline

Reaction score
I'm just getting into all-grain. I got my water profile from Ward Labs and I'm wondering how much of an effect water chemistry actually plays.

Here's my thought. I do a ten gallon batch with tap water, unmodified. I split the batch into two five gallon batches and add whatever to get the water profile up to something more "ideal".

My question is, can I add the adjuncts after the boil, or at the very end after drawing off half the wort?

Thanks, just curious.

AJ often suggests adding a pinch of sulfate or chloride to your finished beers to see the effects. That way you're only sacrificing a beer as opposed to a whole batch. Start with a low mineral water, make beer, then play around with your finished beer.

Here's my thought. I do a ten gallon batch with tap water, unmodified. I split the batch into two five gallon batches and add whatever to get the water profile up to something more "ideal".

My question is, can I add the adjuncts after the boil, or at the very end after drawing off half the wort?

Thanks, just curious.

In short, no. I mean you can add some sulfate or chloride of course, but the major advantage to knowing your water chemistry is to get to the proper mash pH. Also, sparging with low akalinity water (no matter what the beer style is) is important. So, by doing the adjustments after the mash, you aren't really manipulating anything to do with the mash pH. Adding some gypsum may or may not be noticeable to the finished batch, and the same with chloride.

Excellent, thanks for clearing up the whole chemistry thing. I'll do two "similar" five gallon batches to see if I can discern any difference.