Saison Suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

porter

Reaction score
I have the following for a Saison:

Grains:
8 oz. Dingeman's Caravienne
4 oz. gambrinus Honey

Malt Extract:
6.6 lb Cooper's Light Malt Syrup
1 lb Munton's Light DME

Hops
2 oz Willamette @ 60 mins
1 oz Willamette @ 10 mins
1 oz Willamette @ 1 mins

Wyeast French Saison Yeast.

It is a kit from a shop. What spices would you recommend? I have never brewed a saison. I heard of orange zest & coriander. I've got fresh cilantro (coriander) in the garden, but no seeds yet...will that work? How much? How much orange zest?

Cheers, Jeffro

I'm no expert, but I would shy away from zesting on your first go around. It can add tannins and give you a bitter taste if you add it too early, at least in my experience. I just made a saison and added 2 oz of crystallized ginger at the end of the boil but haven't tried it yet. It is a recipe from Sam at Dogfish Head, so it is likely solid. Make sure you keep your fermentation temps as high as you can get them with the saison yeast, around 80 degrees and let it go for 3-4 weeks before you secondary. I would probably make the kit as is first and see if you like the base, then tweak it next time if you are looking for added flavors.

To spice or not is up to you...the yeast should provide it's own contribution to the flavor profile but you can still toss spices, and you don't have to stick to the same old coriander/orange combo

From Wyeast's page: