Saflager S-189 lager yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

catdaddy66

Reaction score
Just picked this yeast up at the LHBS to use in a Marzen/Oktoberfest lager.

Anyone ever use this for similar brews? Just wondering what to expect and get some tips on its performance. I have never used it before so I have questions. Thats why I come to HBT, to find answers.

Thanks in advance!

I make 12-15 German/Euro lagers a year, and, until a few months ago used 34/70 exclusively. I have access to all the common WLP/WY/Danstar strains, but I simply haven't found a more superior yeast for German lagers than 34/70. My $0.02.

I recently tried S-189 for a Munich Helles and Vienna Lager. Like 34/70, S-189 is:

1) Fairly sulfury in primary (which will fade in lagering)
2) Good in regards to diacetyl, although a d-rest is advisable
3) Best IMO when direct pitched rather than rehydrated or put in a starter, so you'll need 3-4 packs for a 5 gallon batch if you go this route.
4) Seems to prefer 48-52 degrees for primary and 60 degrees for d-rest.
5) Lets malt flavor shine, especially if you decoct.

S-189, in my two batches (compared to 100+ with 34/70) attenuates a bit more and dries out the beer a bit more than 34/70. But you can make adjustments to your mash to account for this.

My Munich Helles, normally fermented with 34/70, had rests at 130/148/154/168 with two decoctions, and it was much drier with S-189 than 34/70. So consider mashing at the slightly higher end of the sacc rest ranges. I would change the S-189 Helles to 130/152/168 the next time and omit the 148 rest. An perhaps do one long single decoction vs two short.