Rules for label making?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bdolce

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby and getting ready to bottle my first batch of Red Ale (I cannot wait to taste the first bottle!). I have made an initial attempt at a label and it still needs some work. Basically, I looked at some other labels online to get a feel for what it should look like and went from there. In getting this far with the label I realized you could go nuts playing with the design. It also made me think, are there any rules for labeling a homebrew? I am guessing things like date, % ABV, IBU, etc. should be on the label, but I also started a log book with all the same info. So it lead me to ask the question and I suspect people on here may have some opinions, which I would welcome. Thanks in advance, cheers!

intial red ale label.png

I would say the rule is, if you want it on there, put it on there. I've seen labels done up where the person had the brewery name, brew name, and maybe some kind of picture. I've seen some that had all kind of details about the brew and "gov't" warnings, some close to real and some really far off. I think the main thing is have fun with it.

On all these do whatever you want notes, I love this label, I think its hilarious, very well done

Thanks for all the comments and useful info. I suspected there really were no rules, but wanted to make sure. I really like Kurtism's comment on putting the same effort into the label as you did with the beer - good advice I will try to follow. As for JoeyChopp's comment, not sure I want to go "blue" with my first label, it is not my style. I may save the nudity for something a little more exotic down the road.

I never label beer....then I would have to remove labels (it also helps that I keg)