Root beer doesn't taste like wort

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TxDoc

Reaction score
I'm new to home brewing. I really don't like the taste of beer, but I love root beer. I've tried to make it three different homemade brew recipes from scratch (roots, no extract), but the final product is really off.

Each wort tasted great, but each final result has been nothing like the wort. All the flavors are gone, and the remaining taste is hard to describe. Pungent may be the only word; nothing like root beer, and nothing like the wort.

I've changed the sterilization, I've changed recipes, but I haven't changed the yeast (Cooper's dry yeast). The resulting off-taste has been present in each batch. Could my yeast alter my taste that much, or am i doing something wrong?

I thought I'd try making root beer as a fun project, but I'm getting a little frustrated. Any help is appreciated.

How are you back sweetening you root beer after fermentation? I've never had a hard root beer before but I'd imagine you'd need to kill the yeast and back sweeten quit a bit to get anything close to what I think of for the non alcoholic root beer.

Can you describe your process? Most root beer record I've seen call for fermentation to be halted as soon the desired carbonation is reached, normally by pasteurization. Are you letting the root beer ferment out?