Reusing yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trailrider

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at reusing yeast and I'm somewhat unsure about what can and can't be done to reuse it? I plan on brewing a Belgium style ale sometime in the next week or two using yeast I've taken form a few bottles of a "Belgium style Golden Ale".

What I've done so far

•Saved about 1/2 inch of beer in 4 each bottles of Golden Ale, sanitized rims, capped and stored in fridge a few days.
•Made a starter (2cups water and 1/2 cup light DME) cooled and poured into sanitized bottle then added contents of the 4 Golden Ale bottles.
•Starter was left on the kitchen counter and roughly 36 hours later some activity started and a white kraeusen started to form.

I now have another 4 pack of the Golden Ale and I'm wondering if I can add the yeast from these bottles to the existing starter using the same procedures I started with? If this will work I expect to empty the 4 bottles within the next 3-4 days and then put the starter in the fridge. I'll remove the starter a day or two prior to brewing. Hopefully the yeast will reactivate and I'll have enough yeast to pitch into a wort with an expected OG of 1.067. Am I going about this in a reasonable manner or should I change my plan?

You will want to add the new dregs to a new starter wort. If there isn't any sugar left, they won't propagate. You can cold crash and decant your current starter. Then make new wort, pitch on the decanted yeast cake and pitch the 4 bottle dregs.

And keep it sanitary! Or you will ware your effort to make vinegar.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew