Red Hook Eisbock

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rwabdu

Reaction score
last night i had a Red Hook Eisbock that was fantastic. I don't think it is illegal to make any more, they are selling it in the grocery store in NH. 11% alcohol.

anyone know a recipe for an Eisbock made with extract? I really want to make one, but I'm pretty new to brewing.

Just because they sell it doesnt mean its not illegal to make per se, they could have just gotten a licence to do it. But if you want to make one I'd be more than happy to help you come up with a recipe, let me think on it a while...

Kaboom

They covered this on an episode of the Jamil Show. You can download it on iTunes for free. Read the recipe but definitely listen to the show as he goes over the actual process on how to do it.

Also this is an eisbock that his friend got a perfect (50 point) score with at nationals... which was also brewed from extract.

Thanks for the headsup homebrewtastic!! I'll have to check it out and try to come up with the AG version. We get some -20 cold spells here this time of year and that ought to do the trick!

He said the trick was to have two kegs. One with the eisbock and one empty. You put the eisbock in your freezer, and after the first hour shake it every 20 minutes and listen for ice crystals. You don't want it to freeze solid, so shake it frequently. Then hook up the kegs outline to outline and then push it through. The beer will transfer, the ice will stay behind.

wow, just got home from the bar, you guys are great! I'm downloading the podcast now. thanks for the recipe homebrewtastic.

Let me know what you think up rambler. I'm excited about this.

I have thought up a few issues.