Recipe Suggestions for Bulk Aging?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dummkauf

Reaction score
Noob here with 3 batches under his belt and looking for some extract recipe suggestions for beers that would benefit from bulk aging for several months to a year as I recently scored 3 more 5 gallon carboys for cheap on Craigslist, which brings me up to one 6 gallon and four 5 gallon carboys, and figure I should fill them with something.

I have an Imperial Stout aging in one of them right now and I have a mead kit I am going to get into one soon, which leaves me with 2 empty five gallon carboys for aging. Plus by the time I get the mead and 2 more batches through primary my Stout should be in bottles :mug:

carboy #1: Imperial Stout currently aging(6 more weeks til bottling)
carboy #2: Soon to be full of mead
carboy #3:???
carboy #4:???

I like the idea of brewing up a Belgian Tripel, some type of double, or even a barley wine, but I'm not sure if I can do those higher gravity beers with extract or not? I've also seem a few references that those "big" beers are much more difficult to brew, is this true, and if so are there any lower gravity beers that should be aged?

No reason you can't do big beers with extract, although for something like a tripel you might come out a bit darker than you want.

A tripel can be as easy as 80% pils extract, 20% sugar (corn, cane, candi) by extract to 1.070-1.075, and 30-35 IBUs of a Euopean (or European-ish) hop at 60 min. Ferment with the Belgian yeast of your choice (I like 530/3787 - Westmalle) or a blend of yeasts (make a starter). Start fermentation cool, but let it warm into the 70s to make sure you get plenty of yeast character and full attenuation. No need for steeping grains, spices, or finishing hops in my opinion.