Recipe for leftover ingredients

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LotterBrau

Reaction score
Hi,

Thank you for adding me to the forum!

I have bought a couple of leftover ingredients from the local brew shop, as our country is under Covid-19 lock down and NO alcohol sales are allowed!

Yes, and I am new to brewing and don't want to mess up with what I have.

I bought:
1 x Tin of "Well known Australian" Beer Enhancer LME (Liquid Malt Extract) Extra Pale (1.5kg)
1 x Brew Blend Brown/Dark Ale (1kg) malted barley
1 x Black Patent Malt 1kg roasted barley, not malted, I believe

And the following yeasts and hops.
4 x Willamette Hop Pellets (50g)
4 x Belgian Ale Yeast each for 10-12 liters
1 x Willamette hops 50g
1 x Dry Lager Yeast for 10-12 liters

So I was thinking to mix 1kg of the Brew Blend Brown/Dark Ale and 250g of the Black Patent Malt
Steep it for 1 hour in 70degrees C.
Sparge the steep or mash.
Question : How many liters should I end up with inclusive of the steep and sparge?

Mix the above wort and Beer Enhancer LME with 3-4 liters?
Boil until the proteins disappear.
Add the hops, not all of the above at some stage.
Add more water to have a final volume of 12-15 liters? I have no gravity tester.

Cool down the lot.

Add it to the fermenter.

Add yeast, and ferment.

Will this work, or can someone please assist me with a step by step process to brew something decent from the above ingredients?

Regards
Ivan Lötter
South Africa