Recipe Critique - Porter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MNBugeater

Reaction score
Ok, a really good friend of ours is celebrating her 30th birthday in a few months as well as the fact that she is now in remission from Hodgkin's. She asked if i would make her a beer for her birthday party...Aside from being honored, i am also looking for my inaugural brew on my new Brutus 10 single tier clone.

I freely admit that i am new to creating recipes from scratch. I usually find one that meets the style and is proven..but i wanted to make it special and say i designed it myself for her. So here goes. Im thick skinned, so if i missed the mark..please let me know.

Her name is Penny and she likes a 'darker and sweeter' beer; she also wanted a beer that would have some appeal to a lot of people, most of which are good beer drinkers. So I came up with a porter on the light side as well as a mild hop bill.

Here is my: Copper Penny Porter

[size=+2]Copper Penny Porter[/size]
[size=+1]12-A Brown Porter[/size]

21.jpg

Size: 10.01 gal
Efficiency: 75.0%
Attenuation: 75.0%
Calories: 152.39 per 12.0 fl oz

Original Gravity: 1.046 (1.040 - 1.052)
|===============#================|
Terminal Gravity: 1.011 (1.008 - 1.014)
|=================#==============|
Color: 21.0 (20.0 - 30.0)
|=========#======================|
Alcohol: 4.51% (4.0% - 5.4%)
|=============#==================|
Bitterness: 22.26 (18.0 - 35.0)
|============#===================|

[size=+1]Ingredients:[/size]
15 lbs 6-Row Brewers Malt
3 lbs 2-Row Caramel Malt 80L
.5 lbs American Black Patent
2 oz East Kent Goldings (5.0%) - added during boil, boiled 90 min
1 oz Fuggle (4.8%) - added during boil, boiled 10 min

[size=+1]Schedule:[/size]
Ambient Air: 70.0 °F
Source Water: 60.0 °F
Elevation: 1100 ft