re-newb-ed: extract boiling time?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FSBrewer

Reaction score
Sorry to still be such a newbie. It's been a while since my last batch and I feel as though I've regressed from complete newb to utter newb.

Anyhow, I seem to have forgotten the significance of the length of time you boil unhopped extract before adding the hops. Basically, I only have dark malt extract here now (2x3.3 lb.) (and a few various hops and some yeast) and I really wanted to make something not too dark (like an IPA) but don't have the ingredients. I can't buy ingredients here and no matter what, I'm going to brew today. Most of the recipes I'm looking at call for boiling the extract close to an hour. I don't remember what this does for the extract. If I boil, say, for only 10 or 20 minutes before adding hops and completing the brew, what would be the difference in outcome?

In my experience it always goes like this.

If not specialty grains are used, bring the water up to a boil. This kills bacteria in the water and "purifies" it as well. Once it boils pour in your extract, slowly.

Once it is all in, bring it back up to a boil and hit the hot break. A hot break is basically the threshold right at boiling were the mixture starts to really foam. Manage it and it helps to break down proteins and imparts better flavor and head on the beer. Once you've managed your hot break, toss the hops in.

You don't need to boil the extract wort for 60 minutes. You must have bad directions. I always pitch hops after the hot break and continue to boil for 60 minutes, adding ingredients as seen fit.

Hope that helps!