Racking from Primary to Keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nathan8372

Reaction score
This has probably been covered 1,000 times, however I fail to find the answer/advice to my particular question:

I’ve been brewing for a few years now and I recently started kegging my beer. My question is, after the beer is finished in the primary, can I rack to keg and put it in the kegerator for conditioning, carbonation at serving temperature? Or is there a waiting period required to let the beer mellow in a secondary? I mainly brew pale ales with Safale US 05 because I think it cooperates with the warmer climate here in South Texas (harder to keep indoor temps under 70 degrees). Any advice would be great.

Um, yes but...

Racking to a secondary fermenter may be unnecessary at best, even harmful. But being in a rush to chill down your beer may sacrifice the benefit of yeast "cleaning up" undesirable flavors. I prefer to keep beer at fermentation temps for a while after active fermentation has ended, even if I may transfer to a keg to free up the fermenter.

This has probably been covered 1,000 times, however I fail to find the answer/advice to my particular question:

I’ve been brewing for a few years now and I recently started kegging my beer. My question is, after the beer is finished in the primary, can I rack to keg and put it in the kegerator for conditioning, carbonation at serving temperature? Or is there a waiting period required to let the beer mellow in a secondary? I mainly brew pale ales with Safale US 05 because I think it cooperates with the warmer climate here in South Texas (harder to keep indoor temps under 70 degrees). Any advice would be great.