Questions about IBU calculation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PapaDon

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and somewhat confused, my wife says I'm totally confused but that's a different subject. So here goes: I tried to figure the IBU of my current brew but get different results depending on the calculator used. "IBU Calculator " at Brewers Friend, HomeBrewing.com, a downloaded Excel spreadsheet and BrewersFriend's Recipe Designer software, are all different and not even statically close. So I'm confused. Which one if any is correct? Thanks

As to which is correct, the truth is that none of them are, because (aside from occasionally lucking out) none of the math models for IBU are going to get you anywhere close to lab measured IBU perfection. In reality roughly +/- 33% of lab tested IBU values is about all you can ever hope to consistently get out of the software models. In a podcast ominously titled "The IBU Is A Lie" one homebrewer who was part of the testing process was 70% off vs. lab testing for his IBU value on a submitted beer sample.

Some of the problem with the witnessed discontinuity in output across the various IBU calculators stems from their being multiple math models that all differ, and additional of it comes from different approaches to the implementation of the given math models.

Glen Tinseth, the man behind the math of what is likely one of the most used models stated on the same podcast that he never once tested a pellet hop, and that for pellet hops "All bets are off.".

I hope this doesn't further confuse you. Find a calculator you like and stick with it.

Last edited: