Questions about building HLT

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MVKTR2

Reaction score
I've had a cobbled together cooler-propane based brew house for the better part of a decade and 100 batches. It has worked very well for me but I'm finally ready to upgrade. I'm keeping my cooler mash tun. I want to convert a keg I have on hand into an electric HLT. I brew 5 gal batches mostly and it needs to be 120 volt normal wall socket compatible.

For the record I want to preheat my strike and sparge water together to an accurate temp. Dump sparge water into mash tun. While mashing I'll use the electric HLT to raise temp of sparge water.

Suggestions welcome. I'm handy, mechanical teacher by trade, but not opposed to buying something if it makes economic sense. I'm simply not sure where to begin. I've looked around a few sites but nothing clicked yet.

You'll need a PID controller and a heating element to set it up. They make 120v elements. But you'll need a pump to keep the water moving in the tank or else you will create thermal jackets around the element. The elements and whatnot use triclamp fittings.

Just keep in mind that heating enough water for a batch with an element will take a lot longer than propane. 2-3 hours. You can use a digital johnson temp controller for a single element. Just make sure the model can handle the amps. You can use 2 120v elements to heat quicker, but they need to be on separate circuits or they'll pop.