Question on ice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tsuyako

Reaction score
I have seen some people use ice to cool down their wort faster when the don't have a wort chiller. But I've also heard that that is a bad idea as the ice isn't sanitized. Does it make a difference if I buy a bag or two of ice and put it into my hot wort? Or should I make my own ice with boiled and cooled water? (which would take forever)

I'm a beginner too bit why would you put ice in wort? Put ice in sink or bath instead and then put pot on ice. That'll chill it right down without touching your brew/wort

I'm a beginner too bit why would you put ice in wort? Put ice in sink or bath instead and then put pot on ice. That'll chill it right down without touching your brew/wort

Because my sink is very very shallow and it would take hours. I've seen people do it before and it would work for 'topping up water' after it's melted.

Exactly!
You'd cool it down with water as far as it goes. Then use an ice bath to get it down the last 10-30 degrees to pitching temps.

Some people freeze water bottles, then sanitize them in Starsan, before floating them in the lukewarm wort.

Look for an immersion chiller, one of those copper coils.

I have seen some people use ice to cool down their wort faster when the don't have a wort chiller. But I've also heard that that is a bad idea as the ice isn't sanitized. Does it make a difference if I buy a bag or two of ice and put it into my hot wort? Or should I make my own ice with boiled and cooled water? (which would take forever)

I really don't recommend putting any kind of ice in your wort, no matter what you can do it's never really going to be sanitary. Now, you might get away with it a bunch of times, but you know about Murphy.