question about checking gravity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

RippinLt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Location
Alberta
Will I be better off buying a graduated cylinder for drawing samples into to take my gravity readings versus tossing the hydrometer into the fermenter. I was thinking it could be an issue if there is krausen and such on the top of the fermenter. Also if anyone does have the cylinder, what volume is it? (ml)
 

jollytim

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
216
Reaction score
2
Location
Topeka
I use the tube that the hydrometer came in. I don't know what volume it is. I don't think it was specifically designed to be used, but it works. Take the foam piece out of the bottom and replace the cap.... remove the top one altogether. Clean it all up when finished with the reading, let the pieces dry, then use them to package the hydrometer for storage when done.
 

jollytim

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
216
Reaction score
2
Location
Topeka
Just be careful. It doesn't stand up on it's own (at least not well).
 
OP
RippinLt

RippinLt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Location
Alberta
well you saved me 10 bucks so its still the best answer Ive had yet
 

pwndabear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
993
Reaction score
24
Location
buffalo
x4. Until i broke it on accident. Then i broke down and bought a graduated cylinder.
 

BeerJorge

Banned
Joined
Feb 28, 2010
Messages
327
Reaction score
5
Location
Arizona
x5. I have a cylinder, but still use the tube the hydrometer came in because with the cylinder I need about a cup of beer so the hydrometer floats, but with the tube I only need about half a cup... save the money and drink more beer!...
 

Hang Glider

Beer Drinker
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
3,245
Reaction score
214
Location
North Augusta


3.99 from Northern Brewer. Hydrometer test jar. Stable, about the same size as the tube the hydro came in, so it doesn't really use any more sample than necessary, and you can put your hydrometer away while this dries...
Not graduated - but you don't need graduations, you need the hydrometer to float. that is all.
 
Top