Private Preserve Wine Preserver - Use in Beer Bottling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Epos7

Reaction score
I've been homebrewing for a couple of years now and have 25-30 batches under my belt. I've been bottling my batches this whole time, and one thing I've noticed consistently is rapid flavor loss, presumably due to oxygen. I make sure to practice all the usual recommended techniques - minimize agitation and air exposure during transfer, cap on foam, etc. Nevertheless, my beers are pretty delicious from about 4-5 weeks in bottle up until about 6 weeks in bottle. At that point, they're still good, but the flavors start to become noticeably muted. As the hops flavor fades, my beers often taste too sweet. Diacetyl production during aging could be the cause. Compounding the problem is that I get the occasional gusher before 5 weeks in bottle. After 5 weeks, carbonation seems to reach equilibrium. Ideally, I'd start drinking my beer after 5 weeks in bottle, but at that point flavor is already on the decline.

I'd like to start kegging eventually when time, space, and budget allows. I think this will help with flavor loss due to oxygen exposure, but in the mean time, I'm searching for a better way to bottle.

In addition to beer, I also enjoy wine, and I own and use a product called Wine Preserve. It comes in a can for about $10, and is a mixture of argon, nitrogen, and carbon dioxide. It's very effective at preserving the flavors in an opened bottle of wine for up to a week.