Primary Regulator or High Pressure Regulator for secondary regulator application?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a newbie when it comes to kegging. I purchased FOUR SECONDARY REGULATORS so I can carbonate different kegs at various levels. I have two taps at the moment but I purchased the four secondaries so I can expand to four taps in the future.

The confusion I am having at the moment is in regards to the Primary Regulator. Do I need a High Pressure Regulator or can I use a Regular Primary Regulator for the Four Secondary Regulators?

If my Kegerator is set at 37 degrees and my suggested carbonating level is 12 PSI for a 2.5 carbonation I'm confused as to why I would need a high pressure primary regulator when it's suggested to set the primary at your highest carbonating level, which for me would be 12 psi right? Is the High Pressure Regulator overkill or am I missing something?

Below is the picture of my Secondary Regulators.

secondaries.jpg

I've never read of a "high pressure primary regulator" versus a "regular pressure primary regulator". Actually, I've never read of either term being used.

A primary CO2 regulator has to handle the worst-case CO2 tank pressure. It's the first regulator in a system, hence the "primary" thing. Secondary regulators need a primary in front to step down the tank pressure into the zone that the secondary regs can handle, which typically tops out around 60psi or less.