Pot size and boil over

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oventoasted

Reaction score
Hello all! First post here.

So, im new to brewing and when getting my equipment i purchased a 7 gallon pot to boil my wort in. but like a dumby i didnt notice that the initial boil was not 5 gallons but ~6.5 gallons!

am i screwed or can i still manage this without a nasty boil over? I've heard others say you need a minimum of 2 gallons of extra space. :(

also sorry if this is a repeat post. i did search before posting.

Ya its going to be tight...get a defoamer like femcap..and that will really help, but you still wont be able to get a descent rolling boil at first . It will get better with some boil off though...Take it back and exchange it for an 8 gallon pot minim if you can.

maybe ill just get a larger taller pot and use this one for chilling the larger taller pot.

when you have lemons make lemonade type deal. :)

Hello all! First post here.

So, im new to brewing and when getting my equipment i purchased a 7 gallon pot to boil my wort in. but like a dumby i didnt notice that the initial boil was not 5 gallons but ~6.5 gallons!

am i screwed or can i still manage this without a nasty boil over? I've heard others say you need a minimum of 2 gallons of extra space. :(

also sorry if this is a repeat post. i did search before posting.
I would get a ten gallon pot. A thick walled aluminum pot can be bought with a lid from Staples for about 50 bucks or less. You can get a stainless pot if you have the money and prefer that of course. It makes it a lot easier when you have the proper space in your brew pot.