Possible infection

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

truenorth73

Reaction score
I used an extract recipe kit from northern brewer for a fresh squished ipa got to bottling day and have just started opening some to check carbonation and flavor and I discovered that some of my bottles have some bigger bubbles at the top of the bottle that look kinda yucky and I wonder if I have an infection? I did use some Guinness bottles I got from friends and wondered if they had mold and if those big kinda nasty bubbles are mold and if so what to do? Please help,took the best picture I could with my phone.
IMG_6578.JPG

I'm definitely not an expert, but I don't like the look of that. Hopefully it is nothing.

As a newbie, I've used only bottles that I saved myself, and always at least rinsed them out immediately after emptying the first time. Then some time later a soak in PBW, dry, and store, then sanitize at bottling time. No infection so far.

The film on top is called a pellicle.
You have some wild yeast and/or bacteria. Not mold.

It is safe to drink.

Equipment (including bottles) needs thoroughly cleaned in addition to being sanitized with a non-rinse sanitizer.
Rinse used bottles immediately after emptying.

I soak my bottles in a warm PBW cleaning solution for 24 hours, rinse with a bottle washer. Visually inspect and do a rinse and then sanitizer spray before bottling. Dried upside-down with a FastRack so nothing touches the inside. Sanitize caps immediately before use.

There is a small chance that the bottles may over-carbonate and create "bottle bombs", which is as bad as it sounds. Keep monitoring the carbonation. It would be safest if you put them all in the fridge after they reach the desired carbonation level. Otherwise store them somewhere safe.