Pomegranate Gose

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WhatAlesU9

Reaction score
I am pretty new to home brewing. Have actually only done 2 batches and none in the past 6-7 years. I have a Mr. Beer kit and am interested in trying to brew a Gose. Mr. Beer has a kit for a grapefruit gose (Salty Dawg). I don't really like grapefruit so I thought I would just substitute pomegranate for the grapefruit. Is there anything special I need to do with it? I think I read or heard somewhere, that you should freeze the fruit to avoid contamination. Is that what I need to do? Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers!

Bringing the grapefruit to pasteurization temperature for an adequate amount of time is the only guaranteed way to prevent contamination. For example you could cut it up, put it in some water, bring it to a boil, quickly chill, and then dump it in the fermenter toward the end of fermentation.
You could use pasteurized pomegranate juice instead.
Another option is flavoring (e.g. Brewers Best natural flavoring).

Freezing doesn't kill microbes, and they live both inside and outside the fruit, so soaking it in anything won't do the job either.

Welcome to HBT!

I think I read or heard somewhere, that you should freeze the fruit to avoid contamination.
Freezing fruit just aids in getting the most flavor out of it, as it breaks down the cell walls; it doesn't sanitize/sterilize - as RPh suggested, pasteurization is the only recourse for that. Typically, washed and frozen should suffice, as the typical procedure is to add fruit to an already-fermented beer. In doing this, the alcohol present and the low pH go a long way in preventing infection.