Please don't be pissed!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave1226

Reaction score
I've been brewing of course for a few years. What want to know is, are there any recipes to make something comparable to bud light? The reason I ask is because a good friend of mine always tries my beer and says it taste great and he likes it. Then he opens his fridge and grabs another bud light. I would like to make something as close as possible to BL so that I can ruin him forever. I just don't understand how one could go from tasting a home brew straight back to BL!

You just may have to reconcile with the possibility that your buddy may be beyond help.

What you really need is not a BL clone, but rather something that is close, but better. Obviously, he is not all that enamored with flavorful beer, so you will need to work in a gradual fashion.

Start with either a cream ale or, preferably if you have the ability to ferment at lager temps, something like Northern Brewer's Pre-Prohibition Lager.

Light lagers are tough to do well. They have very little to cover any off-flavors. Since they are lagers, temperature control is even more critical than with ales. It's important to use the proper water (generally, distilled or RO water with a wee bit of calcium chloride), pitch a huge starter at 48 degrees, and hold fermentation temperature at 50 degrees for about 10-14 days before raising the temperature for a diacetyl rest. After the diacetyl rest, it should be lagered at 34 degrees or so for about 6 weeks.

If you can do all of that, you can easily make an American light lager. Bud uses rice, I believe, for their adjunct while Miller uses corn. I prefer the corn version, but others like the rice. Flaked corn and flaked rice are readily available.