Please check my hop utilization math:

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NitrouStang96

Reaction score
6.57gal boil, 5.5gal batch
.25oz Centennial 9.5% 55min = 9.3 IBU

2.5gal boil, 5gal batch
.48oz Northern Brewer 6.8% 55min = 9.3 IBU

Is this the correct way to do this? If so, frack! I'm going to be using almost double the hops :p

That calculator isn't precise enough for me to be able to check my math. Cool page though.

I did my calculations in Beersmith, but this is my first time trying to do this, so I just want to run it past you guys and see if I'm right or if I'm wasting hops making nasty beer :p

we need more info. the gravity of the boil has an effect on utilization, so your grain/extract bill will be needed.

:drunk: my bad, i see what you're trying to do now. Am i correct that you're trying to convert a full boil recipe to a partial boil?

The hops are an example of a different AA% with substituted hops. I am converting an AG to an extract with steeping grains.

Estimated OG for this is 1.040

(anyone know what beer this is, yet? :) )

Anyway, with that OG, is this the correct math?

I'm getting a substantial difference. Just over 8 IBU for the first one and over 11 for the second. Anyone else? did you changed all the volumes in beersmith?

NitrouStang96 said:
6.57gal boil, 5.5gal batch
.25oz Centennial 9.5% 55min = 9.3 IBU

2.5gal boil, 5gal batch
.48oz Northern Brewer 6.8% 55min = 9.3 IBU

Is this the correct way to do this? If so, frack! I'm going to be using almost double the hops :p