PH Meters

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juskojj

Reaction score
Ok all you beer makers and mead makers. Anyone have a PH meter? Suggestions on brand/model? are they really needed?

Mead Makers - does anyone use a PH meter? if so why and suggestions on brand/model?

I have the Milwaukee pH 56. NorthernBrewer sells it for $99 but I got it on Amazon for only $57: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007Z4HZ8O/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20 . Works great so far. Are pH meters really needed? Not really, you'll still be making beer with or without one. I've been brewing great beer for nearly 4 years without one and only recently picked one up to improve my beers further. I also think after a number of uses over a number of different styles of beer I'll probably get used to the ballpark ranges and know enough to not really need to use it each session, just to check in once in awhile I would imagine. The only thing is you have to remember to calibrate it before using on each brew day and you have to store it in electrode storage solution. For me this is as simple as putting some storage solution in the end cap, capping it, and putting a piece of tape around the seam just to aid in preventing any evaporation between uses, then store it standing upright.

Rev.

Last edited by a moderator: