Perfect storm of problems!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Remy

Reaction score
So I’m new to this. I have brewed four batches of all grain brew three ales and a lager. Our (bro in law) first was a cream ale done with an experienced home brewer who has retired from it. It had issues but was good. We didn’t have much of a recipie and ended up with 3 gal instead of 5. We figured out that problem so no repeats there. Next we had an issue doing a double brew one night one the second brew we noticed our insta read thermometer wasn’t correct and we were no longer certain about our mash temps. We added the required water at an adjusted temp we calculated to be the right temp for our 10 gallon cooler tun at 180 to hold at 156 for an hour but when we added it went up to 200 ! At that point we didn’t trust any numbers and after kegging and carbonating they tasted like cardboard. Then I found the chart for adding co2 and for liquid lines and I am 9 ft short. But that has been negated by a leak in a corney keg I thought was good and it drained 800psi out of my tank.
So after learning all these mistakes we have decided that when we do a mash we’re going to start At the desired temperature possibly a little less water so we can add the water we are going to keep heated as it sits and maintain the temperature for some reason I had it in my head when we first started that it was much like the fermentation process where you stay hands off other than some stirring of the mash.
We are brewing kits now and that has helped but our problems have taught us also. I would love some tips to eliminate learning by mistakes!