over carbonation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GluStick

Reaction score
Well it might not be, maybe im just a major noob. But anyhow, im still relatively new to homebrewing and i have been having some trouble lately. Usually my beers turn out pretty good, if i say so myself. But i cant drink them if they are more than a few months old because they get over carbonated and they foam up like crazy when i open them. I am bottling and i add the recommended amount of priming sugar and they carb up nicely. But then when i want to save a couple beers to have later, lets say a few months, then they are way over carbonated. It is a little bit frustrating. I make sure that the yeasties are done working on the beer and after it reaches final gravity i wait a few more days to make sure it doesnt drop any lower.
I must be doing something wrong and i would be grateful for any sort of advice. I have a feeling its something simple and i am just over complicating things. Im about to get a keg setup, but i want to be able to bottle too without the issues. :)

Two things I think of first:

1) You say you add the recommended amount of priming sugar, but what do you mean? Did you add 5 oz to 5 gal, or less? That alone could produce a pretty high level of carb. You want to base priming sugar calculations off of bottled volume as well as desired volumes of CO2.

2) If your later bottles were gushing badly it is possible there was an infection in the bottle. I have had people approach me and open a beer that gushes everywhere, tastes pretty bad, and they say to me "but I added the right amount of priming sugar!"

Based on the actual procedure you used you should be able to tell if one, or neither, of these factors is responsible