Opinions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickelrodent

Reaction score
Hi im new to brewing, I am brewing my second batch of 5 gal, and I was wondering if I could get the communities opinion:

How long do you keep your cider in primary fermentation?

How long do you keep your cider in secondary fermentation?

How many times do you rack?

Where and how long do you age your cider (fermenter, bottles)?

Thanks, Im sure alot of this information is around the forums but i would like to get it all in one area so I can easily compare the diffrent techniques.

You are correct, all of this info is out there. But there are tons of detailed discussions on each of tons questions, so don't expect more than rudimentary answers. Here is the most important thing. Keep good notes of what YOU do. You will get a lot of people telling you conflicting info of what works"best". The reality is there are way to many variables for the home brewer to ever control all of them absolutely. Even if you are meticulous you will have some small variation which may our may not make a huge difference to the final taste, appearance, alcohol level, or mouth feel of your cider. The good news is that it is all cider and will get you and your friends drunk.

Now your questions.
Primary- you'll get everything from one week to three months. Some people use set schedules and proceed regardless of what the cider is doing. Some people purely go off of sg levels (get a hydrometer). Some people stick it in a closet and remember out weeks later. Whatever you end up doing keep notes. Initial and final sg, Storage temp, Cider used, yeast used, etc.