Off-taste in maris otter-based bitter-help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rmeskill

Reaction score
Hey all-so I did a Maris Otter-based English Bitter last week and it's come out a bit odd. Fermentation's not finished, but there's a definite off flavor/taste in the beer that I can't quite pinpoint. It's almost like it's 'sharp' or maybe a touch 'tart'. Not soured, just quite a strong flavor that doesn't taste like what I was expecting. I'm relatively new to bitters-I've done 4-two of them with pale malts and two with maris otter-both maris otters have come out like this and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. The pale malt versions have come out malty and understated like I expect a bitter to be-just not clear on what's going on with the maris otter malt... Here's my recipe/steps:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 22,00 l
Post Boil Volume: 19,11 l
Batch Size (fermenter): 19,00 l
Bottling Volume: 19,00 l
Estimated OG: 1,037 SG
Estimated Color: 27,7 EBC
Estimated IBU: 34,6 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 67,00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 67,0 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
2800,00 g Pale Malt, Maris Otter (5,9 EBC) Grain 1 83,6 %
400,00 g Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L (236,4 EBC) Grain 2 11,9 %
150,00 g Biscuit Malt (45,3 EBC) Grain 3 4,5 %
12,00 g Goldings, East Kent [6,40 %] - First Wor Hop 4 13,2 IBUs
10,00 g Goldings, East Kent [6,40 %] - Boil 60,0 Hop 5 10,0 IBUs
12,00 g Fuggles [4,50 %] - Boil 20,0 min Hop 6 5,1 IBUs
0,50 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10,0 mins) Fining 7 -
17,00 g Goldings, East Kent [6,40 %] - Boil 10,0 Hop 8 6,2 IBUs
18,00 g Fuggles [4,50 %] - Boil 0,0 min Hop 9 0,0 IBUs
7,00 g Goldings, East Kent [6,40 %] - Boil 0,0 Hop 10 0,0 IBUs