Oakes foreign extra stout.... Really smokey?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blakelyc

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi folks:

Back in the summer I brewed a foreign extra stout. I racked off 1 gallon onto one ounce of Hungarian oak, medium toast, that had been soaking in an aged rum (Ron zacapa). I let this sit for 9 days, at which point the oak character was present but not overpowering. I have never used oak before, so at day 12 I bottled it.

It has been sitting undisturbed since the beginning of September. I chilled one and tasted it tonight..... It was very, very smokey in an almost ash-like way. Very muddled and inelegant. That flavor was not there at bottling.

My question is this: is this just a phase? I know that Oaked beers have a life cycle, but I don't know if this is a normal part of it. Do Oaked beer have a smokiness when they are young?

I guesss I will just put these down for a while longer.....

Heya, sorry for the delay. There's been a hurricane happening.

Anyways, I don't have the whole grain bill handy, but it was the FES recipe from Brewing Classic Styles, straight-up with no modifications. DME, some roasted malt, chocolate malt, crystal of some sort. Nothing that would lend such a significant smoky note. I mean, it tasted like a campfire smells.

Fermentation was relatively normal, if a bit vigorous. Probably ran at 68-70 with Wyeast 1333. One of the tasters thought he detected a faint bubblegum on the end. I didn't pick it up, neither did anyone else. I may have been distracted by my shock at the smoke.