Not hitting all grain FG goals

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiddy

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have been brewing partial mash batches for last ten years..about one every couple weeks and finally made the jump to all grain.

I have brewed three batches so far, a stout and two IPAs. I am using a single step infusion mash in a modified keggle. My OGs are pretty close to exactly as I need but the final gravities are stalling out pretty regularly at .02 higher than i need. This last IPA started at a 1.048 and is now stalled at a 1.025.

I'm steeping at 152-154 and fermenting with two smack packs of 1056 @ 68-69 deg.

I've never had problems with stuck or regularly failing fermentations and can't figure out where the deal. Any ideas?

Hey guys,

I have been brewing partial mash batches for last ten years..about one every couple weeks and finally made the jump to all grain.

I have brewed three batches so far, a stout and two IPAs. I am using a single step infusion mash in a modified keggle. My OGs are pretty close to exactly as I need but the final gravities are stalling out pretty regularly at .02 higher than i need. This last IPA started at a 1.048 and is now stalled at a 1.025.

I'm steeping at 152-154 and fermenting with two smack packs of 1056 @ 68-69 deg.

I've never had problems with stuck or regularly failing fermentations and can't figure out where the deal. Any ideas?

Have u calibrated your thermometer lately? How are you measuring gravity? Yeast? Temperature?

Check/calibrate your thermometer to make sure your at your target temps. Or if your lazy like me, just mash at slightly lower temperature 149-151 and see if it makes a difference.