Noob, worried about Cider SG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simonl75

Reaction score
This is my second attempt at HB, complete novice so please bear with me....

Here in AUS you can find Bulmers (Cider, I think it's common in the UK) on tap, it's not very easy to find but some places serve it and I love the stuff.

After reading the "Man, I love Apfelwein" thread I said to myself "Self, you must have a crack at this" and so I have.

My fermentor is 11.5L (3 gallons) so I pretty much halved EdWort's recipe and planned the following;

10 litres (2.5 gallons) Apple Juice, pastuerised with no preservatives
500 grams (1 pound) Dextrose
1 Packet Dry Wine Yeast

I get my apple juice no problems and off I go to the LHBS to grab my yeast & sugar - I explain what I want to do, the fella I spoke to was excellent and advised that perhaps it would be better if I used a brew booster ALONG with the sugar so I took his advice. He estimated my SG would be 1.050.

The recipe turned into this;

10 Litres (2.5 gallons)
1kg (2.2 pounds) Brew Booster (500g Dextrose, 250g Maltodextrin, 250g Light Malt
500 grams (1 pound) Dextrose
10 grams of Wine Yeast

If I used my hydrometer (1st time ever) correctly, the SG was 1.222 @ 23C (73F)!!!!!!
Note to self, use hydrometer on the juice before adding anything next time....

Twelve hours later she's happily bubbling away at one bubble per 3 seconds.

My concern is the SG, what is this going to turn into? Can the yeast handle this?Would it be even remotely enjoyable?

I'm sure it'll sit me down pretty quick if the end result is palatable.....

No matter what I'll leave this thing going and see what happens, I know I'll be able to answer my own questions in time, but any feedback would be appreciated