NOOB trying Amber Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BoA1967

Reaction score
I'm new to Partial-Mash, and 4 beer kit brews old. (3 beer kits, with steeping grains, and 1 extract/steeping/boiling hops)
I've been reading, searching and studying brewing alot, for 3 months, and now i'm getting ready to brew try a partial mash, with a mini-mash tun (2 UK gallons)

Heres the recipe I have created, and I need feedback. Have I gone overboard, or am I on the right track. (I don't know the style but I like the tastes of the grains in the mix):

Tamper with Amber (Irish Red Ale)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.056 (°P): 13.8
Final Gravity (FG): 1.017 (°P): 4.3
Alcohol (ABV): 5.14 %
Colour (SRM): 13.8 (EBC): 27.2
Bitterness (IBU): 29.1 (Rager)

46.62% Maris Otter Malt
23.31% Amber Malt
9.32% Dry Malt Extract - Light
9.32% Vienna
4.66% Carapils (Dextrine)
4.66% Dry Malt Extract - Dark
1.17% Biscuit
0.47% Chocolate
0.47% Roasted Barley

1.3 g/L East Kent Golding (4.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.9 g/L Fuggles (5.7% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil)
0.9 g/L East Kent Golding (4.7% Alpha) @ 15 Minutes (Boil)

0.1 g/L Irish Moss @ 15 Minutes (Boil)
2.2 g/L Malto-Dextrine @ 10 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 20°C with Safale S-04

Best regards

~Bo (From Denmark)

I think you've got too much of a hodgepodge there. I'd ditch any dark or amber extract, as it has other things in it like crystal malt so it's hard to say what's in it.

An American amber typical has up to 15% or so crystal malt, and maybe some Vienna and Munich character malts. Amber malt is a dry biscuity malt, and so is biscuit malt. Roasted barley AND chocolate malt are overkill, too. I think you're making an English pale ale with those hops?