Noob: force carbonate without keg?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamdis

Reaction score
Okay, I'm a real brewing noob. Here's my question:

I'm interested in force carbonating my beer, but I want to avoid Kegs.

Because of a non-beer related project I'm about to come into possession of a CO2 tank, regulator, lines, and carbonator cap. Basically, the set-up described here: http://www.jeffreymorgenthaler.com/2014/how-to-build-your-own-carbonation-rig/

As long as I have all this stuff, I'd like to be able force carbonate my beer and store in ordinary 12 oz crown cap bottles in order to save time (and sediment) vs the bottle conditioning I currently do. I've read the "no stinking beer gun" thread and I like the concept, but I just don't have the fridge room for a corny keg, and don't want to spend the money to get one.

Here's what I'd like to do, except I'm pretty sure it's a bad idea:

-siphon finished, flat beer into several 2L soda bottles
-Carbonate with carbonation rig using same method from the above link used to carbonate soda water, etc.
-simply pour into ordinary beer bottles, cap and be done.

I guess this is a bad idea because of carbonation lost when pouring between bottles, and because the beer bottle hasn't been purged of oxygen, which will cause early spoilage. (right?)

However: Couldn't I simply compensate for the lost carbonation by over-doing the carbonation in the first place? Would the oxygen issue be any worse than with bottle conditioned beer?

More work than just bottling. Thumbs down.