no trub in yeast starter!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jprag

Reaction score
Hi, Im new to making starters...
I have a high gravity beer, and since im far away my smacks pack were going to be a bit old, so as my suspicions, Mr malty said make a half gallon with 2 yeast packs.

I left starter in a plastic water jug, with the aluminum foil at 68-70 for 3 days, (last thursday) later passed it on sunday to refrigerator at 43. So its been on the fridge for 5 days.

After the 2 days, there was a mild sediment and when I shook there was "gas", so I understand that, this means its good to go.

Now, after 5 days in the fridge its still looks the same (without the gas) just a little bit of sediment, I've been reading and most people say there should be a "layer" of trub at the bottom, however I do not have this layer.

I wouldnt want to pitch the whole 1/2 gallon, because i feel gravity will go down significantly. Should I pitch the whole thing and raise the gravity of the starter with some dme to the gravity to match that of the wort?
Should I anyways take a bit of the liquid on the top of the starter??

Thanks!

I don't totally follow...how much is "a little bit" of sediment? A quarter inch? A few specks? How big is the bottom of your water jug? Without some more specifics, I'm not sure why a little bit of sediment shouldn't be the same as a layer of sediment.

Decanting or not decanting is an issue of personal preference, having to do with exactly the issues you suggest. You should not build a starter out of high gravity wort. I am a decanter, so I crash and dump 90% of the liquid layer. I use the remaining 10% to swirl the sedimented yeast back into suspension and then pitch that.