NO hot break??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerman77

Reaction score
OK Im not a total noob but still fairly "green". (Only been doing this about 2 years) Did an all grain recipe a few weeks back... everything went smoothly, good yield off my mash and then I set it to boil. I waited for the hot break, spray bottle filled with cold water in hand to control the foam over and.... nothing. It slowly came to a boil and did its thing. No foaming whatsoever. I was almost disappointed even though I hate cleaning off the sides of my brew pot. So has this happened to anyone else? It there a potential problem? I racked to my secondary last night and took a taste. It tastes fine... actually seems to be on its way to being a pretty awesome holiday ale. Thoughts anyone?

I've had brews with a hot break and then I've done the same brew a couple of months later with nothing.... Happened today as a matter of fact. Wouldn't worry about it.....

I could be completely wrong but when I get a fast hard boil it looks like egg drop soup. When I have a slow soft boil I dont get much break material. Also the hard fast boils seem to produce clearer beers. Either way the beer is always drinkable. RDWHAHB

Ever since I got my KAB6 burner, its been egg drop soup for me. Man I might have to start leaving brewing more to make up for the break material I leave behind. Or I will have to include it to reach my target volume. I'm assuming its good to get hot break right?