No carbonation in bottle after 3 weeks

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RavenChief

Reaction score
I am new to home brewing. So far I have brewed up 6 batches using Muntons Gold beer malt kits. Anyway, up till this last batch I had no problems and my beer turned out great! This last time however I ran into trouble. My fermentation was basicly normal and was completed in about 7 days. However, I used a diferent yeast this time. The yeast I pitched was Danstar Nottingham. Like I said the fermentation was about the same as I had previously observed with other dry yeast. The Danstar left a nice solid cake on the bottom of the bucket and my beer is nice and clear. I primed my beer bottles with 1/2 tsp of dextrose sugar and waited two weeks for to carbonation magic to happen. Trouble is when I poured my beer it was flat.... It seems to have the same alcohol as usual but no bubbles :(
I am wondering if the yeast dropped so compleatly out of suspension that there was nothing left going into the bottles to eat the priming sugar?

Any thoughts?

1/2 teaspoon of sugar seems like very little to me. I don't measure by the bottle (since I add 4 ounces of sugar to the whole batch) but I would think that it'd be more like 1 teaspoon of sugar per bottle.

Anyway, you could try keeping them someplace warmer. If they are in a cool place, they will not carb up well even if there is enough priming sugar in them.

I'm still a noob, so take this with a grain of salt.