No bubbles in the airlock...is this an issue?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeginnerBrewer

Reaction score
Seemingly I've followed all the instructions to my home brew kit including sanitising everything, following quantities and the order to this method.
I'm a student and although it being May, the house isn't the warmest of places(!) so had to wrap it in a few blankets to keep it snug. Its only been a couple of hours, but I haven't seen any bubbles in the airlock, though I can slightly press on the lid and it does bubble for a few seconds. The seal on the lid seems tight, as I should expect, as its relatively new.

Not sure if I should be worried about no bubbles or not? The other crucial thing is, think the yeast was about 2 years old, will that affect it...? Any help I can get would be fantastic, thanks!

Seemingly I've followed all the instructions to my home brew kit including sanitising everything, following quantities and the order to this method.
I'm a student and although it being May, the house isn't the warmest of places(!) so had to wrap it in a few blankets to keep it snug. Its only been a couple of hours, but I haven't seen any bubbles in the airlock, though I can slightly press on the lid and it does bubble for a few seconds. The seal on the lid seems tight, as I should expect, as its relatively new.

Not sure if I should be worried about no bubbles or not? The other crucial thing is, think the yeast was about 2 years old, will that affect it...? Any help I can get would be fantastic, thanks!

First, read some of the stickies at the top of the page. They will provide a TON more information than any kit instructions can hope to.