No airlock lid?! Blow off Emergency setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TexasDroughtBrewery

Reaction score
Ok, so I had a brew day sad. I was brewing my beer and and the boil is almost finished so I looked for my air lock so I can get it all sanitized. I had all of the pieces except the lid. So I was frantic I have a done beer and no airlock. I took a siphon tube hit it with a lighter to soften it up and wrapped it around the airlock and put the other side in sanitized water as an emergency no air lock, blow off tube for the rescue. I hope this works I have never done this before. Any advice?

Here is a picture of the air lock I am referring too, if you take the lid and the piece in the middle out its just a tube.

air lock.PNG

You do have the little cup that sits on the middle upright tube, right?

If so, it should not matter, it will be pushing gas out, not sucking air in, so it is a non-issue. I have heard of some cautious people using an alcohol-soaked cotton ball, or using a piece of tin foil and a rubber band over their airlock. It you look closely, many of those airlocks actually have a small hole in the lid to let that gas escape.

I've also heard of people using SanStar or vodka in their airlocks too, instead of water.

If you are missing that little cup, too, perhaps you could find something that would sub in. That piece is the more important piece than the lid. I'm thinking the top of a 16oz soda bottle, with the lid screwed on, cut it about 1" down from the top, see if that fits inside there. Or a thimble from a sewing kit. Or try the top cap from a sharpie or a highlighter pen.

A piece of aluminum foil should work as well. Might not need to but you could poke a few tiny holes in it to help the CO2 escape.

:mug: