No activity after 36 hours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blowmax10

Reaction score
I'm doing a batch with Lager yeast and have no experience with it

I did a 2000ml starter for 24 hours split between 2 five gallon carboys.

The starter looked a little slow but I thought it was just because it was a new yeast that I have never used before.

I'm not seeing any activity in the air locks

You guys think I should warm the carboys up to 68F till I see fermentation??

I pitch lager yeasts warm and cool down when they start fermenting. Other people get upset with this idea.

2 things
1)Lager yeast take longer
2)Lagers require much larger starters so 1 liter in each is very small for a lager. Check out the Mr Malty calculator.

For example, making 5Gallons of 1.045OG lager and using a stirplate with one pack of yeast, require a 2 liter starter. Bmp that OG to 1055 and you go up above a 3 liter starter.
that same 1055 beer as an Ale only requires a 1 liter starter, likely less. If you're not using a stirplate and just using intermittent shaking, you're starter for the 1055 lager jumps to 5 liters.

And even if this was 5G of ale with a 2000ml starter, you'd still have 36 more hours before needing to worry. :D
give it another day or two before you worry, you under pitched and it's going to have a longer lag time, especially at lager temps.

Your beer is fine.

#1 https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/fermentation-can-take-24-72-hrs-show-visible-signs-43635/, and by visible signs we don't necessarily mean a bubbling airlock.

It IS a sticky at the top of the beginners forum for a reason, afterall. ;)

As already stated in the linked sticky, Fermentation often can take up to three days to start. And by visible signs they do NOT mean airlock bubbling.