Next step in the process? - True Brew Amber Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pauly99

Reaction score
I have the "Gold Kit" from True Brew and am currently working with the True Brew Amber Ale kit. This is my first attempt at a home brew and even though I'm 43 years old, I feel like a kid... jazzzzzed. So I followed the directions, sanitized everything, boiled what I needed to boil, and in the end I had the wort in the fermenation bucket. It started bubbling through the air lock after about 12 hours and continued bubbling for another 36 hours or so. Its been sitting now about 4 days after I saw the last bubbling and I will be sanitizing/washing the grolsch bottles (inherited from my dad) this evening. Here is my question. I understand that I will need to add the sugar for priming that came with the ingredients kit but as I look at my "Gold Kit", I see a carboy which I haven't used and from my understanding, I would just siphon things from the fermentation bucket (where the wort currently sits) right into the grolsch bottles using the included tubes. Is that correct? Or am I somehow to transfer everything to the carboy while using the sugar from the priming process? Am I making any sense?

Welcome to the wonderful world of brewing! Be warned, this stuff can be seriously addictive :)