Newbie with questions about spunding

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minorhero

Reaction score
Hello folks!

I am very new to brewing (getting ready to taste my first beer tonight - an english brown ale from an extract kit). I've spent the last month researching better methods for making beer and I've settled on going with a BIAB all grain for my next beer. My wife bought me a ukeg for my birthday so this beer was a mix of bottles and using the ukeg (a 1 gallon keg that uses disposable co2 cartridges). I instantly decided that kegs are the way to go with the caveat that I will be doing small batches (1 to 2 gallons) only.

Reading into it both here and elsewhere on the internet it seems that using a spunding valve for natural carbination is really easy. As of right now I am planning to use a jug for primary fermentation for 2 or 3 days (until the krausen goes down) then using a siphon rack it into the keg, attach the spunding valve, set it to 30 psi and leave it alone for a week or 2 (until it stops hissing) and then put it in my fridge. Leave it for another few days and serve.

My question is really basic but seems hard to find the answer to. In this situation the keg is at 30 psi when finished. Do I need to hook up any additional co2 to force the beer out of the tap to serve during the life of the keg or will that 30 psi need to be supplemented with additional co2 later in the life of the keg to get everything out?

Thank you for any help!